The Council

The Council has two key roles: setting the strategic direction for the NMC and overseeing the work of senior NMC staff.

The Council ensures that the NMC complies with all relevant legislation, including the Nursing and Midwifery Order 2001 and the Charities Act 1993.

The Council is made up of 12 members, with six members from a registrant background and six from a non-registrant (i.e. 'lay' background). Council also has at least one member from each of the four UK countries. They are appointed by the Privy Council. Registrant members are from a nursing or midwifery background; lay members are selected for their expertise in various fields and strategic experience.

The current Council took office on 1 May 2013 and currently has one vacancy.

The next meeting of Council is on Wednesday 3 December 2014.

Mark Addison (Chair)

Mark joins the NMC from his role as a non-executive Director at the National Archives and has previously held several senior positions in the civil service, many with an operational focus, as well as roles at No10 and the Cabinet Office.

After leaving the civil service, Mark held a range of non-executive director posts, leading on a number of reviews and investigations, including assessing the capability of senior management teams in government and helping them strengthen and improve their performance.

Terms ends: 31 December 2014


 Maura Devlin

Maura is Head of the Northern Ireland Clinical Education Centre and has held this position since November 2011. 

She was Director of Nursing & Midwifery Education in the Beeches Management Centre between 2008 – 2011 and has served in a range of other Assistant Director roles in the Health & Social Care sector in Northern Ireland.

Term ends: 30 April 2017




Maureen Morgan


Maureen is Senior Fellow in Clinical Leadership at Keele University. Before this, she was Professional Officer for Policy and Practice in the Chief Nursing Officer team at the Department of Health.

A nurse and health visitor, Maureen held a number of management and executive positions in the NHS, and was awarded an OBE in 2012.

Term ends: 30 April 2015


Quinton Quayle

Quinton is a former diplomat who has served as British Ambassador to Romania and to Thailand. He currently advises a number of companies with business interests in South East Asia.

He is a member of the Queen's Counsel Selection Panel and sits on the Governing Council of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland, and on the Regulatory Board of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors.

Term ends: 30 April 2017


Louise Scull

Louise runs her own business coaching practice, and is Vice Chair of Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust. She has also served on the Audit Committee of the NMC and as a lay adviser to Council on financial issues.

Term ends: 30 April 2015


Carol Shillabeer

Carol is Nurse Director, Powys Teaching Health Board and was appointed in 2009.

In this role she is Lead Director for Children and is the director responsible for mental health and wellbeing. She was formerly General Manager for Gwent Healthcare NHS Trust between 2008 and 2009.

Term ends: 30 April 2015


Amerdeep Somal

Amerdeep is an independent assessor to the Financial Ombudsman Service and an Audit committee member of the Joseph Rowntree Foundation. Since 2006 she has served as an Immigration and Asylum judge. She was formely a member of the board of the Independent Police Complaints Commission.

She serves on the Office of the Commissioner for Public Appointments as an independent chair of recruitment panels for ministerial appointments.

Term ends: 30 April 2016


Elinor Smith

Elinor is Executive Nurse Director, NHS Grampian Board. She has held this position from November 2006.

She was Executive Director of Nursing at Grampian Healthcare, the primary care trust between 2002 and 2003, and served in other nurse director roles until her appointment as Executive Nurse Director in 2006.

Term ends: 30 April 2017


Stephen Thornton

Stephen has held a number of senior executive and non executive positions in healthcare. Until recently he was Chief Executive of the Health Foundation and Deputy Chair of Monitor.

He is vice chair of the Eastern Academic Health Science Network and a non executive director of The Pathology Partnership. Formerly he was Chief Executive of the NHS Confederation.

Term ends: 30 April 2016


Lorna Tinsley

Lorna, a registered midwife, was Senior Workforce Modernisation Manager between 2009 and 2012 at the National Leadership and Innovation Agency for Healthcare. She chaired the Strategic Vision for Maternity Services in Wales workforce group during this appointment.

She was National Officer for Wales at the Royal College of Midwives between 1996 and 2009. Prior to 2009 Lorna was the Parent Education and Health Promotion for Women Lead in Cardiff.

Term ends: 30 April 2017


Anne Wright

Anne Wright has been a Member of the Bar Standards Board since 2012 and is a former Chair of the National Lottery Commission. Her former non-executive roles include the School Teachers Review Body, the Armed Forces Pay Review Body, and Youth Music Theatre UK.

She was Vice-Chancellor of Sunderland University from 1990 to 1998, and was appointed CBE in 1997. She is a Council member of the British Institute for Technology and E-Commerce.

Term ends: 30 April 2016